Agora Awardees Light the Path toward Marketing Excellence in New Book: “The Agora Way”


For close to four decades, the Agora Awards in Marketing Excellence have recognized outstanding achievements in different fields and different sectors of Philippine business.
The distinction is one that is difficult to earn but rightfully stirs up a strong sense of pride in its recipients. Since the Awards were first given out by the Philippine Marketing Association (PMA) in 1979, close to three hundred have been awarded.

This year, the PMA has collected stories from 30 members of its august Agora Circle to share their experiences and guiding principles. In this way, these past winners are able to leave a lasting legacy to the succeeding generations of Filipino professionals who will move the industry and profession forward and take it to even greater heights.

“THE AGORA WAY: Shared Lessons and Values on Philippine Marketing Excellence” contains a range of sound advice: from lessons learned from his father by Lance Gokongwei to joining the big leagues by Paulo Tibig to advice on remaining relevant and sustaining business from David Guerrero. Think of it as a handbook for a masterclass in Philippine marketing excellence.

This takes even further the Agora Circle’s commitment to share their journey and knowledge with future marketing professionals in various communities.

Agora awardees for Entrepreneurship include business leaders Socorro C. Ramos of National Book Store and Tony Tan Caktiong of Jollibee. Among the awardees for Export Marketing are furniture designer Kenneth Cobonpue, weaver Leonarda Capuyan and clothing retailer Ben Chan.

Peter Garrucho, Julie Tañada, Leonardo Garcia and Chere Yturralde are among the educators who received the Marketing Educator award.

Marketing Company of the Year awards have been given to homegrown companies like Philippine National Bank, Lamoiyan Corporation, Globe Telecoms, Cebu Pacific, Smart Communications, Chow King Foods Corporation, Universal Robina Corporation and Ayala Land, Inc.

Metrobank Foundation, Lamoiyan Foundation, GMA Kapuso Foundation, Diwa Foundation and Novartis have all received Agora for Marketing Advocacy.

The newest category for Marketing Communications Management, has already recognized the work by ABS-CBN’s Donald Lim and BBDO’s David Guerrero.

“THE AGORA WAY: Shared Lessons and Values on Philippine Marketing Excellence” published by the Philippine Marketing Association will be launched in December 2016.


# # #

For media inquiries, please contact:
Abigail Macabit
+63905 752 1386

(Visited 38 times, 1 visits today)